New Project: DIY Farmhouse Table

I’m very excited to preview my newest project: a Farmhouse table! I got this beaut (you know, “b-yoot”) off Craigslist for a whopping $50! Please excuse the quality of the photo. The table was already disassembled when I picked it up so this is the best I have. But you get the jist.

00e0e_9qb3trlPH2t_600x450That’s right. A table and four chairs for $50! There’s some marks and glue stains on the top of the table that I’ve started sanding out but all-in-all this was a pretty good bargain.

What do I plan to do with it? I’m so happy you asked (or thought)!

I recently came across this beautiful tutorial from Ana White and her newest Farmhouse Table DIY. And since it was exactly what I have been looking to do I decided to get all the necessary tools together to do it on my new (to us) table. Hers is inspired by the Pottery Barn Keaton Dining Table, but who has $1,700 to spend on JUST THE TABLE!? Plus, her projects are all drool-worthy and gorgeous enough to make any DIY-er jealous.

pottery barn keaton diy-farmhouse-table-free-plansSo I have my table and I have my chairs. The next thing I did was find out where I could get that incredible milk paint. Enter the wonderful Jen at Degaje in Wesley Chapel. (Btw, if you haven’t visited her shop then you definitely must! She has some beautiful pieces in there) She was so incredibly helpful since this is uncharted territory for me. I’ve worked with chalk paint but milk paint is new.

This is such an exciting project for me that I just want to get started and finish it already, but with the afternoon showers we’ve been having almost every single day here in sunny Florida (cough, it’s never sunny in the afternoon in Florida, cough) I’ve had to take it slow and have only been able to sand the tabletop so far. Le sigh.

After I’ve finished, depending on the final outcome, I may end up covering the existing tabletop with my own creation that looks something like this one from It’s the Little Things that Make a House a Home:

Farmhouse Table

 

Have you already done your own Farmhouse Table DIY project? Please share and let me know what techniques you used and what products worked best!

 

Here’s to hoping for drier weather,
Katie

Leave a comment